Skip to main content
/ Smart Grid Center > Awards, Scholarships

Awards, Scholarships

Recent Graduate Student Awards – Cheng (Peter) Qian

We are pleased to announce that Cheng (Peter) Qian received multiple awards this summer. Demonstration of Energy&Efficiency Development (DEED) student research fellowship and travel grant by completion of a research project with Bryan Texas Utilities (BTU). This award is offered by the American Public Power Association (APPA). Academic Excellence Award, Former Student Pooled Scholarship, offered by

Engineering Genesis Award for Multidisciplinary Research

SGC Collaborators received the Engineering Genesis Award for Multidisciplinary Research that was presented to 14 Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station (TEES) researchers and their research teams during the TEES External Advisory Board meeting Nov. 10, 2017. Among these recipients are: PI: Perla Balbuena, chemical engineering. Co-PIs: Jorge Seminario, chemical engineering; and Partha Mukherjee, mechanical engineering. These

SGC Collaborators Respond to Hurricane Harvey- Rapid Response Research Grant

Researchers in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Texas A&M University are on a mission to help develop a bank of knowledge about electricity needs in the areas affected by Hurricane Harvey and technology to quickly reconfigure power electronics intelligence at the network edge (PINE). Dr. Le Xie, Prasad Enjeti, P.R. Kumar, SGC

Texas A&M Engineering Research Story

A new research story has been published on the Texas A&M University Engineering page highlighting recent research and awards relating to the Smart Grid Center. Dr. Mladen Kezunovic, Regents Professor and holder of the Eugene E. Webb professorship in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, along with graduate students Tatjana Dokic and Po-Chen Chen, have

Scholarship Winner- Payman Dehghanian

Ph.D. candidate Payman Dehghanian has been selected as a recipient of the $2500 Global Scholarship from the International Association for the Advancement of Cost Engineering (AACE). Congratulations Payman! More news on this can be found here>

Kenneth L. Clinton Award Winner- Dr. Zenon Medina-Cetina

Dr. Zenon Medina-Cetina, a SGC collaborator, received the Kenneth L. Clinton Award for his work as the lead of the Yucatan Initiative Project at Texas A&M. Some of the multidisciplinary and bi-national research projects include coastal dynamics, early warning systems, logistics, aquifers, energy harvesting, agro-biodiversity, animal science, water quality and agriculture production efficiency, among others. Medina-Cetina’s

UI-ASSIST Receives $7.5 Million Collaborative DOE Award

Department of Energy (DOE) announced an award of $7.5 million for a joint U.S.-India five-year project that will help advance the development of the power grid. The Indian Ministry of Science and Technology and industry partners will match DOE’s commitment, bringing the total commitment to $30 million. The U.S.-India collAborative for smart diStribution System wIth

US Ignite Application Summit Participant- Payman Dehghanian

Ph.D. candidate Payman Dehghanian will be attending the upcoming US Ignite Application Summit in Austin, Texas on June 26-28, 2017. Payman has been selected as a recipient of a  travel stipend of $750 to defray travel expenses associated with your participation in the Summit and co-located events, made possible by funding from the National Science Foundation. More

New NSF Grant- Dr. Guofei Gu

Dr. Guofei Gu, collaborator of the SGC, is leading a newly  awarded project that received a grant of $3M from the NSF for researching collaboratively how enterprise, cloud and data-center networks are securely built and managed. The project will yield a  new security system, Software-Defined Infrastructure Security OS (S2OS), which encapsulates security capabilities at both the host

CREDC Student Scholarship Winner- Payman Dehghanian

Ph.D. candidate Payman Dehghanian has been selected as a recipient of the 2017 “Cyber Resilient Energy Delivery Consortium (CREDC)” Student Scholarship to attend the Summer School to be held June 12-16, 2017. The Scholarship will cover his lodging and registration to the summer school. Congratulations Payman!