Skip to main content
/ Smart Grid Center > Awards, Scholarships

Awards, Scholarships

Katherine Davis – TEES Young Faculty Fellow Award

The 2020-2021 TEES Young Faculty Fellow Awards was received by Katherine Davis, Ph.D., Assistant Professor at Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering. Prior to joining Texas A&M in 2017, Dr. Davis was a Software Engineer and Senior Consultant for PowerWorld Corporation. Dr. Davis was then with University of Illinois’s Information Trust Institute as a Research

Le Xie – Dean of Engineering Excellence Award, Professor Level

The TAMU College of Engineering  has granted the 2020-2021 Dean of Engineering Excellence Award – Professor Level to Le Xie, Ph.D. professor at the Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering, Chancellor EDGES Fellow, and Presidential Impact Fellow. He is also the Assistant Director of Energy Digitization at the Texas A&M Energy Institute. Dr. Xie received

HICSS-54 Best Paper Award for Tong Et Al., 2021

Paper Titled “A Neural Lyapunov Approach To Transient Stability Assessment In Interconnected Microgrids” by authors Tong Huang, Sicun Gao, Xun Long, and Le Xie, has been awarded with the Best Paper Award at 54th Hawaii International Conference on System Sciences(January 4 – 8, 2021). Please find the link to the paper here.

Dr. Xi Zhang Won Best Paper Award

Professor Xi Zhang, his Ph.D. student Jingqing Wang, and his collaborator Professor H. Vincent Poor from Princeton University (Faculty Fellow for Hagler Institute for Advanced Study at TAMU) won the prestigious Best Paper Award at the IEEE Global Communications Conference (GLOBECOM) 2020 held in Taipei, Taiwan, during December 7 – 11, 2020. Their paper was titled: “Interference Modeling and

Researchers Receive $1.2 million Grant from NSF to Research Monitoring and Control Techniques of the Growth of Nanomaterials Crucial to New Batteries and Photovoltaic Devices

CPS: Medium: Real-time Learning and Control of Stochastic Nanostructure Growth Process Through In Situ Dynamic Imaging The intellectual core of this research is to address the foundational problem of real-time learning and control of a multivariate, nonparametric model of probability density functions that reflect the collective stochastic behavior of evolving nano objects. Several scientific and

Prasad Enjeti – Faculty COVID Hero Recognition Award

The 2020 ECE Faculty COVID Hero Award was received by Prasad Enjeti, Ph.D., TI Professor III of Analog Electronics at the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering,  for Contributions to Innovative Online Teaching and Laboratory Design for ECEN 438 Power Electronics Course. Dr. Enjeti received this award due to the great efforts he made to plan and

Dr. Yu Ding awarded with Distinguished Achievement Award 2020

Dr. Yu Ding, Mike and Sugar Barnes Professor at Department of Industrial & Systems Engineering, Associate Director for Research Engagement at Texas A&M Data Science, Affiliated Faculty at Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering and SGC faculty collaborator, was awarded the Distinguished Achievement Award 2020 for research.  His nominators highlighted ‘his outstanding educational abilities and

Prasad Enjeti – William Keeler Memorial Award

The 2020 Texas A&M Engineering William Keeler Memorial Award for Service was received by Prasad Enjeti, Ph.D., TI Professor III in Analog Electronics at the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. The award was endowed by Atlantic Richfield (ARCO) in memoriam of the late company president William Keeler, Mechanical Engineering Class of ’49. Mr. Keeler

Thomas Powell Fellowship Recipients – 2019

This year 22 graduate students were awarded Thomas Powell’62 Fellowships sponsored generously by Thomas Powell’62 and Powell Industries Inc. This is the greatest honor that a full-time, currently enrolled student can receive in Electrical Power Engineering at Texas A&M. The list of recent awardees is the following: Student Degree Advisor Cecilia Klauber Ph.D. Thomas Overbye,

Pooria Dehghanian’s Awards

Pooria Dehghanian, a student of Dr. Overbye,  won the “Higher Education and/or High Impact Learning Research Award” along with the second best overall presentation award at the TAMU Student Research Week. More than 800 students from all the majors participated and presented their research work. Congratulations on your continuing success.