Advisory Board Meeting

The 9th advisory board meeting of the Smart Grid Center (Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station,TEES) was held at the Texas A&M University Club on October 6, 2017. Prior to the meeting, Meetingthree Advisory board members, Dr. Cris Eugster (CPS Energy), Mr. Gary Rackliffe (ABB Group – North America), and Mr. Cameron Smallwood (United Cooperative Services), attended the Control Center Testbed demo presented by Dr. Kezunovic’s senior doctoral student, Tatjana Dokic at Wisenbaker Engineering Building. The Board meeting focused on developing the Smart Grid Center consortium brought into perspective the goals of the center and catalyzed talks about future paths the center can take. The meeting was hosted by Dr. Mladen Kezunovic, E.E. Webb Professor and director of the Smart Grid Center.

Participants of the meeting included:

Advisory Board Members Present:

Mr. Bill Abler (VP of Commercial Development & Innovation Entergy Corporation)

Mr. Jorge A. Bermúdez, Chair of Advisory Board (President and CEO, the Byebrook Group)

Mr. H.B. “Trip” Doggett, P.E. (President, Benchmark Power Consulting, Inc.)

Mr. Bill Magness (President and CEO, ERCOT);

Dr. Cris Eugster (Chief Operating Officer, CPS Energy)

Mr. John D. McDonald, Vice Chair of Advisory Board (Director, Technical Strategy & Policy Development, GE Grid Solutions);

*Mr. Kenneth Mercado (Senior VP, CenterPoint Energy, Electric Operations)

Dr. Kevin Nowka (Director, IBM Research, Austin)

Mr. Gary Rackliffe, P.E. (VP of Smart Grids, ABB Group – North America)

Dr. J. Martin Scholtz (Executive Associate Vice President for Research, Texas A&M University Professor, Molecular & Cellular Medicine, Biochemistry & Biophysics)

Mr. Cameron Smallwood (CEO and GM, United Cooperative Services)

*Joined through WebEx

Smart Grid Center Representatives:

Dr. Mladen Kezunovic (Director, TEES Smart Grid Center);

Dr. Andrea Kishné (Executive Assistant, TEES Smart Grid Center).


Dr. Narasimha Reddy (Associate Dean of Research TAMU, Associate Agency Director for Strategic Initiatives and Centers, TEES Smart Grid Center, J.W. Runyon, Jr. ’35 Professor)

More information on Advisory Board Members can found here

Posted in Events, News